Energy Healing and You

By Jan Batiuk, Healer

“Our body is a reflection of our thoughts!”
~ Jan Batiuk
There is a connection between how we feel and what part of our body is affected by those thoughts. Our body is the vessel that contains our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual experiences. Through a series of articles, you will learn how energy work done on your body can produce beneficial results. One of the more popular forms of energy healing is called Reiki.
What is Reiki?
Reiki (pronounced ray-key) is a laying on of hands, or hands positioned slightly above the body, healing technique. Reiki is derived from two Japanese words ‘rei’ and ‘ki’. ‘Rei’ refers to a spiritual consciousness and ‘ki’ means the same as ‘chi’ in Chinese. This ‘ki’ or ‘chi’ is the energy that makes all things become alive. It is the universal life force energy. Something that is alive has life force energy in it. Therefore, when we are talking about Reiki we are referring to a life force energy that is spiritually guided.
Reiki has no religious affiliation. The source where Reiki originates from can be viewed as God/Creator or Universe/Source. A Reiki practitioner is the channel for this healing energy.
Concept of Energy Healing
The concept of energy has been studied worldwide for thousands of years. Martial arts, tai chi and feng-shui are all based on energy as their key component. In feng-shui furnishings are placed strategically to allow the energy in a room to flow smoothly. Think about a time when you walked into a room in your home and by moving just one piece of furniture the room felt better. You adjusted the flow of energy in that room to create a better living space.
Our world is comprised of energy, including our bodies. When there is something happening to us whether emotional, physical, mental or spiritual, it will manifest into our body as blocked or a slowing down of energy points within the body.  A Reiki practitioner is able to work on releasing that blocked energy which helps the body to heal faster.
Located throughout our bodies are countless spinning “wheels” of energy known as chakras. The chakras are mentioned in the Vedas (knowledge), which were a series of hymns written in India. In Indian Sanscrit, chakra (pronounced “sha-kra”) means “wheel”.
During a Reiki session, the practitioner will focus on the chakras, looking for signs of blocked or “sluggish” energy. The practitioner will work on releasing any blockages in order to help with the body’s healing. 
Our chakras:

  • bring vitality into the body.
  • help assimilate all energies whether physical, emotional, mental or spiritual.
  • help transmit all energies whether physical, emotional, mental or spiritual.
  • are connected to different organs, glands, nerves and muscles.
  • are associated with different colours.
  • have physical and metaphysical associations.

Location of the Chakras

Chakras, when healthy, spin clockwise and are about the size of your palm. There are seven major chakras in the body:

  1. Root – located at the base of the spine.
  2. Sacral – found 2 to 3 inches below the navel.
  3. Solar Plexus – located under the sternum but above the navel.
  4. Heart – located in the mid chest.
  5. Throat – the centre of the throat.
  6. 3rd Eye – found at the centre of the brow (between the two brows).
  7. Crown – located at the top of the head.

These seven chakras are the ones focused on when conducting energy healings. However, since chakras are literally “vortexes of energies”, the number of chakras in the body are endless. We will discuss the 7 major chakras in the body and learn how working with them can improve your health. An understanding of these chakras will also help you to understand what a Reiki practitioner is working on, within your body, when you have a Reiki treatment.
simple exercise, that you can do at home, will be provided with each chakra description.
NOTE: If you are not sure that these exercises are appropriate for you then consult your doctor. The exercises are various forms of yoga moves.
Arthur Avalon in his book, “The Serpent Power”, published in 1919 introduced the West to chakras through his translation of Tantric texts. Author Anodea Judith, in her book, “Wheels of Life”, has created one of the most extensive books on the chakra systems. If you wish to have a deeper understanding of the chakras I would recommend reading this book.
The Seven Chakras: Root Chakra
The Root chakra:

  • is affected when there are problems with – the kidneys, lower back, hips, knees, legs, spinal column, feet and bones.
  • is connected to our physical needs of food and shelter.
  • can become unbalanced when there are concerns over finances as finances provide the means for food and shelter.
  • is affected by our fear of survival.
  • is affected by our sense of security – fear of losing a job.
  • connects to our feelings about trust – in others, in our self.
  • is associated with our sense of abundance or lack of this.

Root Chakra Exercises
Yoga Pose: Apanasana (knee hug)
Lie on your back. Leaving one foot on the floor, bring the other knee (bent) toward your chest and wrap your arms around the raised knee. Take a deep breath in as you bring your knee to your chest. Hold this position and feel your 1st chakra being open and clear. Repeat with the other leg.

Going for a walk out in nature is a great way to help stimulate this chakra. This energy centre will feel a connection with the earth which is very calming. Think about the times when you have visited parks, sat on a bench by a river or did some gardening. How did you feel?
Next Discussion
We will focus on the Sacral and Solar Plexus Chakras.
About the Author
Jan Batiuk is a Reiki Master, Certified Sound Therapist, Medium and Author. For more information check out her website:

Attention Editors and Publishers

Cancer Help Hub content may be republished with a link to the full article on Such republication must include attribution with a link to the Cancer Help Hub homepage as follows: source, and then the website.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)